Friday, 4 January 2008

Malaysia New State Definitives

Malaysia released her last state definitive stamp series (Agro-based Products) in 1986! It was indeed a long due for Pos Malaysia to phase out the Agro-based Products state definitives and re-issue a new series. Actually, Pos Malaysia had long been planning to do it since 2002. After a few times of postponement, the new state definitive stamp series finally came into light on 31 December 2007. I could not believe it as it was released on the last day of year 2007! The layout design of the new definitve series resembles the previous one (agro-based products) but the motif for the new one is garden flowers. Six garden flowers have been chosen for this new series i.e. lotus (5 sen), Hydrangea macrophylla (10 sen), red lily (20 sen), Baugainvillea (30 sen), Ipomoea indica (40 sen) and Hibiscus rosa-sinensis (50 sen). As usual, there are 14 states (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Pulau Pinang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, Terengganu and Wilayah Persekutuan) for this state definitive series, totalling up 84 stamps altogether. Showing below are the six different denominations for Selangor state.